Violent Offenses

If you find you are being charged with a violent crime, it is imperative you seek the assistance of Illinois violent offenses attorneys. These charges are very serious and at the law offices of Allison & Mosby-Scott we understand that you are frightened and oftentimes you will make statements that can later be held against you. Whether you are charged in Normal Illinois, Bloomington Illinois or other locations we can help. Battery charges, assault charges or endangering a child can result in jail time and a record you cannot escape from.

Understanding Battery Charges

Battery charges can be lodged against you after an altercation with a neighbor, as a result of a bar fight or any other time you make physical contact with another person. These charges can result in jail time of up to one year as well as fines of upward of $2,500. Additionally, if you are charged with aggravated battery, you could be facing felony charges, up to five years in prison and fines as high as $10,000. Both charges could have a life-long impact on your ability to secure employment and may even impact your ability to find an apartment.

Understanding Assault Charges

You do not have to make physical contact with a person to be charged with assault charges. The victim need only have a reasonable fear of bodily harm to charge you with assault. To be charged with assault, you generally have to threaten a person with bodily harm. However, this can occur during an argument where you never had the intention of carrying out a threat. Those found guilty of assault in Illinois could face jail time of up to 30 days and may be facing a fine of up to $1500 for this Class C misdemeanor. Aggravated assault charges are far more serious, especially if you brandished a firearm which could mean you are facing felony charges.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

What is Endangering the Life/Health of a Child?

Under Illinois law, placing the health or life of a child, under the age of 18, in danger could result in charges being lodged against you. Children under six years of age who are left in a car for more than 10 minutes unsupervised may be ground for law enforcement to charge you with a misdemeanor offense. Should you be charged a second time for the same offense, you may be facing felony charges including up to five years in prison.

Contact us today if you are facing violent offenses charges. We are proud to be serving McLean County, Livingston County, Logan County, Ford County, DeWitt County, Peoria County, Woodford County, Tazewell County, and all other areas of Central Illinois. Remember, it is never a good idea to give a statement to any law enforcement officer before contacting a criminal defense attorney.